Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have just completed reading The Phantom of the Opera.  I had seen the movie and the musical has been played over and over on my I-pod so, I looked forward to this book.

The novel is nothing at all like the musical.  Andrew Lloyd Webber basically took the essence of some of the characters, rearranged events, and made the Phantom more likeable.  I knew before I read this novel (due to the fact that my father and I are old horror movie fans) that The Phantom of the Opera is really a horror story, and not a love story.  However, it did creep me out sometimes.  If I could have listened to the thing without interruption, by myself, preferably in the dark, I would have found it truly chilling.  However, life in summer does not allow this. 

I found the Phantom, Erik, truly disturbing.  I thought I was twisted with some of the tortures I used in my stories, but the torture room in the novel was truly despicable.  Now, fans of the Saw franchise and the Hostel movies will find the torture room uninspiring, however, I believe there is a line in art and life that can be crossed and both of the previous mentioned film series crossed them.  Phantom was disturbing but tasteful. 

Anyway, I think that if one enjoys French literature, ghost stories, opera (including the life that goes with it), and the musical, than by all means read the book.  I appreciate and understand Andrew Lloyd Webber’s masterpiece better now, due to the book and now wish to buy the book.

Until Our Next Meeting.

The Lost Writer of Rohan

