Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have finished Dracula.  This is about the third time that I have tried finishing the book and this time I did it, with only a bit of skimming. 

I had grown up with the names “Bela Lugosi” and “Dracula” and “Van Helsing” in my house.  I was fascinated by vampires long before Twilight and all its rip offs came out.  My first Dracula movie was actually Van Helsing.  (Yes, I actually liked it.  I own it.)  I was rather disappointed by the Bela Lugosi version of the film.  It was all rather…blah.  It wasn’t well acted and the script was…blah.  It truly wasn’t as awe-inspiring as one is lead to believe according to popular culture.

The book was the same.  It wasn’t well written.  The concept would have been interesting at the time, but it was really about only about you-know-what (I’m trying to keep this blog G) and how men should have power over women.  That’s not very appealing to someone whose entire immediate family (including one’s father) has encouraged women empowerment and feminism.  *sarcastic gasp*

Read it to say you’ve read it.  I am a firm believer in reading, watching, and/or listening to something that is a pop culture phenomenon (such as The Da Vinci Code, Harry Potter,  and The Twilight Saga) before you can mock it.  Now I can mock Dracula, both book and movie, all I want now.

On a final note, if you want to see a good Bela Lugosi vampire film, see either Mark of the Vampire or The Return of the Vampire.  The first is about a murder by a vampire and the second is an unofficial sequel of the 1931 Dracula.  Speaking of Dracula, a good film version of the famous vamp is Nosferatu, a silent film that was almost destroyed because of copy right laws.  It is public domain now.  Van Helsing and Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein are fun rides.

Until Our Next Meeting.

The Lost Writer of Rohan

