Tags

, , , ,

This is what I consider to be among the most beautiful lines of literature on grace.

Les Misérables by Victor Hugo

*after Jean has stolen the silver*  “So here you are!” he [the Bishop] cried to Valjean. “I’m delighted to see you. Had you forgotten the candlesticks as well? They’re silver like the rest, and worth a good two hundred francs. Did you forget to take them?”

Later

“Do not forget, never forget, that you have promised to use this money in becoming an honest man.”

Jean Valjean, who had no recollection of ever having promised anything, remained speechless. The Bishop had emphasized the words when he uttered them. He resumed with solemnity:— “Jean Valjean, my brother, you no longer belong to evil, but to good. It is your soul that I buy from you; I withdraw it from black thoughts and the spirit of perdition, and I give it to God.”

Until Our Next Meeting,

The Lost Writer of Rohan

P. S. The title of this post is from a song by Relient K called “Be My Escape”.

