Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Recipe adapted from this website. http://www.yourcupofcake.com/2010/10/snickerdoodle-muffins.html

I used the exact recipe as from this website except I used 1/4th of a teaspoon of salt. The only thing that is up in the air is if I should have used salted or unsalted butter. The butter I used tasted kind of funky as well. (This might be due to a strange concoction my sister made up and the butter soaked up the smell.)

The muffins tasted so good that my Mother and I ate them all so quickly that I was unable to get a picture. My Mother says that they are as good as the cookies. I think the cookies are better (but I like cookies better than muffins).

The secret for both the muffins and the cookies is cream of tartar. My family found this out decades ago. Any snickerdoodle recipe without cream of tartar is merely a sugar cookie with cinnamon.

According to Wikipedia, cream of tartar is a by-product of wine making (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Potassium_bitartrate). That was about it I understood from that article.

Making this recipe has reinvigorated my desire for cooking. Baking specifically. I come from a family of good cooks. It is a bit hard to try to learn how to cook properly at such a late age.

Until Our Next Meeting,

The Lost Writer of Rohan

